Colorado Avalanche swept at the NHL Awards

Today the NHL Awards took place and three Colorado Avalanche players were nominated for major awards. The Avs had Nathan MacKinnon for the Hart (MVP), Cale Makar for the Norris (best defender) and Philipp Grubauer for the Vezina (best goalie). Unfortunately, the trio came home with nothing.

Let’s go through the awards and voting.

Hart commemorative trophy

Connor McDavid won the Hart with 100/100 votes for first place. He is the first player to achieve this feat since Wayne Gretzky in 1982. Auston Matthews received 69 votes for second place, finishing third ahead of Nathan MacKinnon.

Gabriel Landeskog got a few votes from the PHWA, as did Cale Makar.

Connor McDavid is only the second unanimous Hart Trophy winner, joining Wayne Gretzky in 1981-82.

(Vote by Professional Hockey Writers’ Association)

– Tom Gulitti (@TomGulittiNHL) June 29, 2021


Was McDavid the right choice for the Hart?

James Norris Memorial Trophy

Adam Fox won the Norris in a close race with Makar. Only nine votes in first place separated the two, with Victor Hedman from Tampa Bay in third place.

Devon Toews got a couple of votes too.


Was Fox the right choice for the Norris?

Vezina trophy

Marc-Andre Fleury won the Vezina for the best goalkeeper in the league, beating Andrei Vasilevskiy with two votes in first place, with Philipp Grubauer in a distant third place. Fleury was third in wins, second in the save percentage and behind Grubauer in shutouts.


Was MAF the right choice for the Vezina?

Other grand prize winners

Ted Lindsay (Best Player): Connor McDavid

Calder (Rookie of the Year): Kirill Kaprizov

Awards won by the Avs

The Avs didn’t technically go empty-handed since Cale Makar was placed on the First All-Star Team as a second defender alongside Fox. Mikko Rantanen was placed on the second All-Star team.

Comments are closed.